Cost Segregation Pricing Last updated: May 2026 · n=49 providers

Cost segregation pricing for multifamily properties

May 2026 dataset · 49 U.S. providers documented · CC-BY 4.0

Median price
$10,000
across n=49 providers
P25 (lower quartile)
$6,500
25% of providers below
P75 (upper quartile)
$16,500
75% of providers below
Range
$500–$20,000
low end to high end

Multifamily cost segregation splits at the 5-unit boundary. Properties with 2–4 units depreciate over 27.5 years (residential) under MACRS; properties with 5+ units depreciate over 39 years (commercial) per IRC §168(e)(2). The longer recovery period at 5+ units makes cost segregation proportionally more valuable. Reclassification ranges 18–35% of basis depending on per-unit finishes, shared systems, and site improvements.

For the 2–4 unit owner deciding whether to order at all: when a study on a 2–4 unit rental pays for itself.

Provider pricing table

Sorted by low end of pricing range. * marks Cost Seg Smart (this dataset is operated by Cost Seg Smart — see methodology).

ProviderPricing rangeTurnaroundMethodologyASCSP
Cost Seg Smart *$495–$2,995Same business dayAutomated—
Expert Cost Seg$500VariesHybrid—
R.E. Cost Seg$950–$5,0005 business days (Rapid) / 15-20 business days (Engineered)Hybrid—
Overline IQ$1,440Days to weeksHybrid—
SMF Cost Segregation Advisors$1,500–$5,0001-2 weeksHybrid—
Modern CFO / FreeCostSeg$1,8001-3 weeksHybrid—
Maven Cost Seg$1,900–$6,0001-3 weeksHybrid—
We Do Cost Seg$2,000–$8,000~3 daysHybrid—
CostSegRx$2,000–$8,000Not disclosedHybrid—
Bedford Cost Segregation$3,000–$8,0003-5 weeksEngineeredYes
Dimov Tax & CPA$3,000–$8,0002-4 weeksHybrid—
Segregation Holding$3,000–$10,0004-6 weeksEngineered—
Patrick Accounting$3,000–$10,0003-6 weeksHybrid—
Veritax Advisors$3,000–$10,0003-6 weeksEngineered—
Dark Horse CPAs$3,000–$10,0003-6 weeksHybrid—
Engineered Tax Services$3,000–$12,0004-6 weeksEngineeredYes
CSA Partners$3,500–$10,0003-5 weeksEngineeredYes
Cost Segregation Initiatives$3,500–$12,0003-6 weeksEngineeredYes
Omega Accounting Solutions$3,500–$12,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
Lindon Engineering Services$4,000–$12,0004-6 weeksEngineeredYes
Madison SPECS$4,000–$11,000Not disclosedEngineeredYes
traditional engineering firms$5,000–$15,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
McGuire Sponsel$5,000–$15,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
Source Advisors$5,000–$15,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
Cost Segregation Guys$5,000–$15,0001-3 weeksEngineered—
ICS Tax$5,000–$15,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
Bracket Partners$5,000–$15,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
MS Consultants (MSC)$5,000–$20,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
Strategic Cost Segregation$5,000–$15,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
Anders CPA$5,000–$15,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
Warren Averett$6,000–$18,0005-8 weeksEngineeredYes
Moss Adams / Baker Tilly$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
EisnerAmper$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Cherry Bekaert$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Kaufman Rossin$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Carr, Riggs & Ingram$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Anchin$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Aprio$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
CohnReznick$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Eide Bailly$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
CBIZ$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Wipfli$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
CliftonLarsonAllen (CLA)$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Baker Tilly$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Crowe LLP$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Marcum LLP$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Plante Moran$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Withum$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
BDO USA$10,000–$30,0006-12 weeksEngineeredYes
Remote Cost SegContact for quoteNot disclosedHybrid—
Seneca Cost SegContact for quote2-4 weeks (rush available; no timeframe published)EngineeredYes
CSSIContact for quoteNot disclosedEngineeredYes
Capstan Tax StrategiesContact for quoteNot disclosed (hotel/restaurant reports: within 30 days of site visit)EngineeredYes
Cost Segregation Authority—4-6 weeksEngineeredYes

What drives multifamily pricing variance

Methodology breakdown (49 providers)

Cost Seg Smart positioning. Cost Seg Smart's MF 2–4 unit tier ($995–$1,995) and MF 5+ unit tier ($995–$2,995) sit at the bottom of the documented MF price distribution. For house-hack / small MF buyers under $800K basis, the price/turnaround tradeoff is decisive. For 20+ unit institutional MF, traditional engineered firms (ETS) with named ASCSP-credentialed engineers are typically the right fit. See multifamily provider rankings.

Frequently asked questions

How much does cost segregation cost for a 10-unit apartment building?

Documented pricing for 5–20 unit small multifamily ranges $2,320 (R.E. Cost Seg Fully Engineered Residential) to $12,000 (the top of Engineered Tax Services' published $3,000–$12,000 range). Median for the segment is approximately $5,500. Automated tier ($995–$2,995 for Cost Seg Smart MF 5+) covers smaller properties but loses scope advantages at 20+ units.

Does a duplex cost segregation study cost the same as a single-family rental?

Documented duplex pricing typically tracks SFR pricing closely — both are 27.5-year residential under MACRS. Cost Seg Smart, R.E. Cost Seg, and other automated/hybrid providers do not tier-up significantly for 2–4 unit residential. Engineered firms may charge marginally more for fourplex due to per-unit FF&E inventory but the methodology is identical.

Which provider is best for 20+ unit multifamily?

Engineered providers in the dataset that serve larger multifamily include traditional engineering firms (ASCSP, Tax Court testimony, $5K–$15K+ engagements, estimated), Engineered Tax Services (publishes $3K–$12K for most studies; audit defense support at no additional charge), and Capstan Tax Strategies (fees not published; offers look-back studies for catch-up depreciation). Brand and engineering depth matter at this property scale; LP reporting requirements drive provider selection.

Methodology. Statistics computed from midpoints of each provider's published or estimated pricing range, filtered to providers serving multifamily. Sample sizes reflect documented providers in the May 2026 dataset; the U.S. provider universe is larger. Each pricing claim cites at least one public source in the canonical dataset.csv. See full methodology.