Cost Segregation Pricing Last updated: May 2026 · n=29 providers

Cost segregation pricing for single-family rentals

May 2026 dataset · 29 U.S. providers documented · CC-BY 4.0

Median price
$6,500
across n=29 providers
P25 (lower quartile)
$2,975
25% of providers below
P75 (upper quartile)
$10,000
75% of providers below
Range
$500–$16,500
low end to high end

Single-family rental cost segregation studies sit at the lower end of the U.S. pricing distribution. The MACRS recovery period is 27.5 years (residential under Rev. Proc. 87-56). Reclassification ranges typically capture 14–22% of depreciable basis into 5-year, 7-year, or 15-year property (appliances, flooring, cabinetry, site improvements). Pricing variance across providers reflects delivery model and audit defense scope, not the underlying tax framework.

Provider pricing table

Sorted by low end of pricing range. * marks Cost Seg Smart (this dataset is operated by Cost Seg Smart — see methodology).

ProviderPricing rangeTurnaroundMethodologyASCSP
Cost Seg Smart *$495–$2,995Same business dayAutomated—
DIY Cost Seg$495–$1,295~5 minutes (software); investor work variesDiy—
Expert Cost Seg$500VariesHybrid—
Room42$525DaysAutomated—
R.E. Cost Seg$950–$5,0005 business days (Rapid) / 15-20 business days (Engineered)Hybrid—
Overline IQ$1,440Days to weeksHybrid—
SMF Cost Segregation Advisors$1,500–$5,0001-2 weeksHybrid—
Modern CFO / FreeCostSeg$1,8001-3 weeksHybrid—
Maven Cost Seg$1,900–$6,0001-3 weeksHybrid—
CostSegRx$2,000–$8,000Not disclosedHybrid—
Bedford Cost Segregation$3,000–$8,0003-5 weeksEngineeredYes
Dimov Tax & CPA$3,000–$8,0002-4 weeksHybrid—
Segregation Holding$3,000–$10,0004-6 weeksEngineered—
Patrick Accounting$3,000–$10,0003-6 weeksHybrid—
Veritax Advisors$3,000–$10,0003-6 weeksEngineered—
Dark Horse CPAs$3,000–$10,0003-6 weeksHybrid—
Engineered Tax Services$3,000–$12,0004-6 weeksEngineeredYes
Omega Accounting Solutions$3,500–$12,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
Madison SPECS$4,000–$11,000Not disclosedEngineeredYes
traditional engineering firms$5,000–$15,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
McGuire Sponsel$5,000–$15,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
Source Advisors$5,000–$15,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
Cost Segregation Guys$5,000–$15,0001-3 weeksEngineered—
ICS Tax$5,000–$15,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
MS Consultants (MSC)$5,000–$20,0004-8 weeksEngineeredYes
Eide Bailly$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Wipfli$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
CliftonLarsonAllen (CLA)$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Baker Tilly$8,000–$25,0006-10 weeksEngineeredYes
Remote Cost SegContact for quoteNot disclosedHybrid—
CSSIContact for quoteNot disclosedEngineeredYes
CostSegEZ—Software runs in ~2 minutes; investor work may take daysDiy—
Titan EchoSubscription modelSoftware runs in minutes; investor work may take daysDiy—
CostSegregation.comContact for quoteNot disclosedEngineered—

What drives SFR pricing variance

Methodology breakdown (29 providers)

Cost Seg Smart positioning. Cost Seg Smart's $495 tier (sub-$300K SFR) and $895 tier ($300K–$700K) sit at the bottom of the documented SFR price distribution. For a basis-specific deduction model, see the Cost Seg Smart calculator.

Frequently asked questions

What does a cost segregation study cost for a single-family rental in 2026?

Documented SFR pricing across U.S. providers ranges from $495 (automated done-for-you) to $20,000+ (traditional engineered with site visit). Median per-property flat fee in the dataset is approximately $2,500 for hybrid providers and $7,500 for engineered firms. Pricing variance reflects delivery model, audit defense scope, and engineering depth.

Why is SFR pricing lower than commercial cost segregation pricing?

Residential properties depreciate over 27.5 years under MACRS (vs. 39 years for commercial under IRC §168). Reclassifiable scope is also narrower for SFRs — most studies capture 14–22% of basis vs. 20–35% for commercial. Provider engagement scope (engineering hours, on-site requirements) scales accordingly.

Is a $495 SFR cost segregation study legitimate?

Yes, when the study includes engineering-based classification per IRS Pub 5653, industry-standard 2026 cost data, component-level MACRS classification per Rev. Proc. 87-56, and audit defense documentation. The IRS does not require on-site visits; pricing variance reflects delivery model. Methodology adherence determines audit defensibility, not study price.

Methodology. Statistics computed from midpoints of each provider's published or estimated pricing range, filtered to providers serving single-family rental. Sample sizes reflect documented providers in the May 2026 dataset; the U.S. provider universe is larger. Each pricing claim cites at least one public source in the canonical dataset.csv. See full methodology.